Top Australian and New Zealand Travel Blogs for 2016

Top Australian and New Zealand Travel Blogs for 2016

Welcome to the 2016 edition of the ranked list of the top Australian and New Zealand travel blogs.  For the first version of this list I have assessed and ranked 138 travel blogs, and I expect to add more blogs to this list following publication so that it is comprehensive.  The new post of Top Australian and New Zealand Travel Bloggers for 2017 has now been published so click through to see the latest information!

I posted my previous list in 2013 and it was very well received – and most of the listed travel blogs have received a regular stream of visitors as a result of the previous list article holding the top ranking article position in Google for the ‘australian travel blogs’ and ‘new zealand travel blogs’ keywords.

How Many Australian and New Zealand Travel Blogs Are There?

In my previous list I assessed 103 blogs – this time around I have assessed 138 blogs – and there are undoubtedly some more who aren’t on my list.  If you missed out please check the assessment criteria below and if you think you should have been included please let me know about your blog in the comments below.  I plan to update this article to include the additional blogs where they meet the assessment requirements.

Travel Blog Assessment Criteria

I have amended my blog assessment and ranking approach to include the following criteria:

  1. The blog must have some link to Australia or New Zealand – this includes people who were born or raised in either country, a blog with a substantial focus on Australia or New Zealand, or a blog where the writer is spending a significant amount of time living in either country, for example as a long term expat or here on a working holiday visa.  A three week visit two years ago doesn’t quite cut it…  🙂
  2. The blog must be active, with travel related articles published in the past three months (and yes, I checked every site :)).
  3. The blog must have a substantial amount of travel articles – at least 50% of the content needs to be travel related.
  4. The blog must have its own domain name (ie. yourtravelblog.com, not yourtravelblog.blogspot.com or yourtravelblog.wordpress.com).

Ranked Australian and New Zealand Travel Blogs

The blogs have been ranked purely using their current Domain Authority (sourced from MOZ Open Site Explorer).  Domain Authority is a number out of a maximum of 100, with a higher number indicating a website which has a higher level relative to other websites.

Please note that Domain Authority is not necessarily a true indicator of actual website traffic but it is a useful indicator of the relative ranking for websites.  Also, Domain Authority levels oscillate with each update on Moz which occur every couple of months.  In my personal experience having tracked my blog Domain Authority monthly for several years now, while my current level is at 30, it has oscillated between 30 and 35 over 2015, and other blogs have a similar experience.

Please note that a couple of sites have rebranded during 2015 and I have tagged those with a note as the Domain Authority for their new domain names will take additional time to rise back to their true level.

Top 24 Ranked Australian and New Zealand Travel Blogs

The top 24 ranked travel blogs have Domain Authority between 53 and 36, and each of these blogs is competitive in the global travel blogging industry and most are operated as substantial blogging businesses.

Rank Site Name Website Address Blogging Niche
1 Y Travel Blog www.ytravelblog.com Long Term Family Travel
2 Indie Travel Podcast www.indietravelpodcast.com Travel
3 World of Wanderlust www.worldofwanderlust.com Long Term Travel
4 Mapping Megan www.mappingmegan.com Travel
5 Nomadic Notes www.nomadicnotes.com Long Term Travel
6 Young Adventuress www.youngadventuress.com Expat Travel
7 Suitcase Stories www.suitcasestories.com Long Term Travel
8 Time Travel Turtle www.timetravelturtle.com Long Term Travel
9 Travel With Bender www.travelwithbender.com Long Term Family Travel
10 Get In The Hot Spot www.getinthehotspot.com Travel
11 Bitten By The Travel Bug www.bittenbythetravelbug.com Travel
12 The Travel Tart www.thetraveltart.com Humourous Travel
13 grantourismo www.grantourismotravels.com Food & Travel
14 Her Packing List www.herpackinglist.com Travel & Travel Equipment
15 Our Oyster www.ouroyster.com Long Term Family Travel
16 What’s Dave Doing www.whatsdavedoing.com Long Term Travel
17 Where’s Sharon www.wheressharon.com Long Term Family Travel
18 A Taste of Travel www.atasteoftravelblog.com Travel
19 Aussie On the Road www.aussieontheroad.com Travel
20 Contented Traveller www.contentedtraveller.com Travel
21 Flashpacker Family www.flashpackerfamily.com Family Travel
22 Our Naked Australia www.ournakedaustralia.com.au 4WD Australian Expedition Travel
23 Travel Past 50 www.travelpast50.com Long Term 50+ Travel
24 Zigazag www.zigazag.com Western Australian Travel

Top 25th – 78th Ranked Australian and New Zealand Travel Blogs

The blogs ranked between 25th – 78th positions each have Domain Authorities between 35 and 25, and these are mostly well established travel blogs who have usually been operating for multiple years and have built a good framework of links and a large body of content.  The blogs are a mixture of full time and part time travel bloggers, some running businesses and others running their blogs as hobbies.

Rank Site Name Website Address Blogging Niche
25 Four Jandals www.fourjandals.com Travel
26 Holidays to Europe www.holidaystoeurope.com.au Europe Travel
27 Albom Adventures www.albomadventures.com Travel
28 Journey Jottings www.journeyjottings.com Travel Memories
29 Backpacking Matt www.backpackingmatt.com Travel
30 Girl Tweets World www.girltweetsworld.com Travel
31 Have Wheelchair Will Travel www.havewheelchairwilltravel.net Travel & Disability Parenting
32 Passing Thru www.passingthru.com Travel
33 Rocky Travel www.rockytravel.net Australian Travel
34 Boy Eats World www.boyeatsworld.com.au Family Travel & Food
35 Not A Ballerina www.notaballerina.com Travel
36 Travelling King www.travellingking.com Travel
37 A Hole in My Shoe www.aholeinmyshoe.com Travel
38 Budget Travel Talk www.budgettraveltalk.com Budget Travel
39 The Road to Anywhere www.theroadtoanywhere.com Long Term Travel
40 World Travel Family www.worldtravelfamily.com Long Term Family Travel
41 Adventure, Baby! www.christineknight.me Travel & Parenting
42 Bushwalking Blog www.bushwalkingblog.com.au Australian Hiking
43 Jon is Travelling www.jonistravelling.com Travel
44 Little Grey Box www.littlegreybox.net Travel Photography
45 Mee Too www.meetoo.com.au Melbourne Family Travel
46 Mr and Mrs Romance www.mrandmrsromance.com Food & Travel
47 Pretraveller www.pretraveller.com Travel
48 Toddlers on Tour www.toddlersontour.com.au Family Travel
49 Exploramum & Explorason www.exploramum.com Travel
50 Bren on the Road www.brenontheroad.com Travel
51 FrugalFirstClassTravel www.frugalfirstclasstravel.com Travel
52 The Global Couple www.theglobalcouple.com Travel
53 The Grey Nomads www.thegreynomads.com.au Australian Travel
54 The Kid Bucket List www.kidbucketlist.com.au Family Travel
55 2 Aussie Travellers www.2aussietravellers.com Food & Travel
56 The Trusted Travellers www.thetrustedtraveller.com Long Term Australian Travel
57 This Island Life www.thisislandlife.com Travel & Fashion Photography
58 Venga, Vale, Vamos www.vengavalevamos.com Expat Travel
59 Holy Smithereens www.holysmithereens.com Luxury Travel
60 Little Nomads www.littlenomads.com Family Travel
61 Melissa Findley www.melissa-findley.com Travel Photography
62 50 Shades of Age www.50shadesofage.com Travel & Lifestyle
63 A Globe Well Travelled www.aglobewelltravelled.com Expat Travel
64 Adventures All Around www.adventuresallaround.com Travel
65 Big World Small Pockets www.bigworldsmallpockets.com Long Term Australian Travel
66 Ecotraveller www.ecotravellerguide.com Eco Travel
67 Flying The Nest www.flyingthenest.tv Long Term Travel
68 rtw Travel Guide www.rtw-travel-guide.com Long Term Travel
69 Travel and Beyond www.travelandbeyond.org Travel
70 Vagrants of the World www.vagrantsoftheworld.com Long Term Travel
71 VegemiteVix www.vegemitevix.com Travel & Lifestyle
72 A Glass Half Full www.aglasshalf-full.com Travel
73 Bubs on the Move www.bubsonthemove.com Family Travel
74 Drink Tea & Travel www.drinkteatravel.com Travel
75 Live. Travel. Blog. www.live-travel-blog.com Travel
76 Redz Australia www.redzaustralia.com Australian Travel

*Recently rebranded

77 Sydney Moving Guide www.sydneymovingguide.com Expat Sydney Travel
78 The Travelling Lindfields www.thetravellinglindfields.com Travel

Top 79th – 119th Ranked Australian and New Zealand Travel Blogs

The blogs ranked between the 79th and 119th positions each have Domain Authorities between 24 and 19, and these are mostly well established travel blogs who have usually been operating for multiple years and have built a good framework of links and a large body of content.  The blogs are a mixture of full time and part time travel bloggers, some running businesses and others running their blogs as hobbies.

Rank Site Name Website Address Blogging Niche
79 A Pair of Boots and a Backpack www.bootsandabackpack.com Travel
80 Hiking Fiasco www.hikingfiasco.com Australian Hiking
81 Legging It www.leggingit.com.au Motorcycle Global Expedition Travel
82 Lots a Fresh Air www.lotsafreshair.com Australian Hiking
83 North and South Nomads www.northandsouthnomads.com Travel
84 Taking to the Open Road www.takingtotheopenroad.com Travel
85 The Wandering Lens www.thewanderinglens.com Long Term Travel Photography
86 Travelling Type www.travellingtype.com Travel
87 A Modern Wayfarer www.amodernwayfarer.com Travel
88 Aerohaveno www.aerohaveno.com Travel
89 Chantae Was Here www.chantae.com Travel
90 Feet on Foreign Lands www.feetonforeignlands.com Travel
91 Little Aussie Travellers www.littleaussietravellers.com.au 4WD Australian Family Expedition Travel
92 Mr and Mrs Amos www.mrandmrsamos.com Luxury Travel
93 Roaming Downunder www.roamingdownunder.com Australian Travel
94 Straight on Detour www.straightondetour.com Long Term Travel
95 Sydney Expert www.sydneyexpert.com Sydney Travel
96 The Travelling Light www.thetravellinglight.com Travel
97 The Urban Mum www.theurbanmum.com.au Luxury Family Travel
98 Travelling Apples www.travellingapples.com Long Term Family Travel
99 Wild Western Australia www.westernaustralia-travellersguide.com Western Australian Travel
100 Dive PlanIt www.diveplanit.com Travel & Scuba Diving
101 Frugal Frolicker www.frugalfrolicker.com Long Term Travel
102 Happiness and Things www.happinessandthings.com Travel
103 Mister Weekender www.misterweekender.com Travel Writing
104 Nomad’er How Far www.nomaderhowfar.com Travel & Lifestyle
105 Polka Dot Passport www.polkadotpassport.com Long Term Travel
106 Sofia na Australia www.sofianaaustralia.com Expat Travel
107 Sophee Smiles www.sopheesmiles.com 4WD Expedition Travel
108 Travel Live Learn www.travellivelearn.com Travel & Lifestyle
109 Travel Outback Australia www.traveloutbackaustralia.com Outback Australia Travel
110 Who Needs Maps www.whoneedsmaps.com Travel
111 4WDing Australia www.4wdingaustralia.com 4WD Travel
112 Blonde Ambition www.blondeambition.com.au Travel & Lifestyle
113 Escape With Kids www.escapewithkids.com Family Travel
114 Go Camping Australia www.gocampingaustralia.com Travel & Camping Equipment
115 Our 3 Kids vs The World www.our3kidsvtheworld.com Family Travel
116 Roaming Required www.roamingrequired.com Travel
117 Travel Ling www.travel-ling.com Travel
118 Hello Sydney Kids www.hellosydneykids.com.au Sydney Family Travel

*Recently rebranded

119 World Travel Tribe www.worldtraveltribe.com Travel

Top 120th – 138th Ranked Australian and New Zealand Travel Blogs

The blogs ranked between 120th and 138th positions each have Domain Authority between 18 and 5, and these are mostly the newer travel blogs who are in the process of building their blogs to an established level, along with some established blogs.

Rank Site Name Website Address Blogging Niche
120 The Wanderlust Scout www.thewanderlustscout.com Expat Travel
121 This Is Our Australia www.thisisouraustralia.com Long Term Australian Family Travel
122 Wanderlust Storytellers www.wanderluststorytellers.com.au Family Travel
123 Genuine Journeys www.genuinejourneys.net Travel
124 It’s Worth a Shot www.itsworthashot.com Travel Photography
125 Many Many Adventures www.manymanyadventures.com Travel
126 Never Ending Honeymoon www.neverendinghoneymoon.net Long Term Travel
127 Norris Around Australia www.norrisaroundaustralia.com Long Term Australian Travel & Lifestyle
128 Stylish Travels www.stylishtravels.com Travel & Travel Equipment
129 The World As Bec Sees It www.theworldasbecseesit.com Travel
130 Go Chase The Sun www.gochasethesun.com Travel
131 Mel MC www.melmcleod.com Travel
132 Travelling Frenchies www.travellingfrenchies.com Expat Family Travel
133 Kev and Em Go Global www.kevandemgoglobal.com 4WD Expedition Travel
134 EuroTash www.eurotash.com Travel
135 The Brunette Travels www.thebrunettetravels.com Travel
136 Travels With Nina www.travelswithnina.com Travel Writing
137 AWOL Family www.awolfamily.com Travel
138 The Blonde Nomads www.theblondenomads.com.au Long Term Australian Family Travel

So there you have it, the ranked list of the top 138 Australian and New Zealand travel blogs.  I hope you have found some new blogs to follow!

New Travel Blogger Welcome

For those of you who are new travel bloggers, welcome to the Australian and New Zealand travel blogging community!  You may not yet be aware that the best place I have found to get to know our tribe, both ‘Down Under’ and in the international travel blogging industry is through Facebook groups.

First set up your Facebook profile so that your travel blog is listed as a website against your profile.  Note that if you do not do this you are unlikely to be added to any group, as the group moderators (who are time poor) get a lot of spam joining requests and you need to make it easy for them to check if you are a legit travel blogger. Otherwise they will ignore your application.

Once you have set up your profile you are then ready to apply to join some groups.  Search for the following groups as a great place to start, and there are many more to help beginner, intermediate and advanced bloggers get started.

  • We Travel We Blog
  • Aussie Bloggers
  • Part-Time Traveler Talk

If you are setting up or refreshing your travel blog site you may also be interested to check out 25 Best Premium WordPress Travel Blog Themes for 2017.

If you think you have been missed please add the details of your blog in the comments below.  Also, if you would like me to put some different info in the ‘Blog Niche’ column please let me know.  I hope you find this list of value and I have certainly enjoyed finding new travel blogs to follow.

Top Australian and New Zealand Travel Blogs for 2016

Tags from the story
, , , ,
More from Anne Sutherland-Smith

5 Top Tips to Prepare Your Car for a Big Road Trip

Everyone loves a road trip. There is a feeling of freedom as...
Read More

164 Comments

Comments are closed.